Employee Recognition and Gabor Awards Recap

The College of Central Florida honored its 28th Annual Gabor Award winners during its annual employee recognition program, Friday, May 5.

From left: Dr. Tammi Viviano-Broderick, dean for E-Learning and Learning Resources, has served CF for 12 years and was honored in the administrative/professional category. Liz Minnerly, professor and librarian, has served the college for 27 years and was honored in the faculty category. Selestine Poole, a Mathematics Laboratory instructional assistant, has served CF for 31 years and was honored in the career service category.

The awards were established by the Gabor Agency in 1990 and are bestowed in conjunction with the CF Foundation. Faculty and staff nominate their peers based on contributions to students, the college and community.

Also during the employee recognition program, Rebecca Gillette, financial aid specialist II, was recognized for 40 years of service to the college. The college celebrates its 60th anniversary in 2017, and Gillette is believed to be the longest-serving employee in the CF history.

Curt Bromund was recognized as Adjunct Instructor of the Year. The Constellation Award, which recognizes faculty members who demonstrate excellence in teaching and student learning, was presented to Dr. Sarah Satterfield, John Ash, Tyrus Clutter, Budd Dees and Dr. Hingrid Kujawinski.