President’s Update – June 2017

June 28, 2017

Dear CF Family:

The District Board of Trustees and I would like to say thank you for your efforts supporting our students, community, performance funding measures, enrollment, fundraising and college efficiency. We had a lot of successes this past year and your efforts are greatly appreciated!

I am pleased to share that the District Board of Trustees approved the 2017-2018 budget at today’s meeting and approved a 3 percent recurring pay increase, effective July 1, 2017. The pay increase is for all full-time permanent faculty and staff and part-time employees hired before Dec. 31, 2016, continuously employed and with an annual performance evaluation that meets expectation or better. Adjunct/overload rates will be increased by $25 per credit hour. Faculty and staff who transitioned from part-time to full-time after Jan. 1, 2017, without a break in service will receive 3 percent adjustment.

We will add three faculty positions to support our new and growing academic programs: Radiography Clinical Coordinator, Nursing ADN and Bachelor of Applied Science in Business and Organizational Management. We will also add professional and career service positions, some of which are repurposed positions made available through resignations/retirements. These include Educational Advisor for the Levy Campus, Coordinator of Maintenance for the Levy Campus, a Grant Specialist II, and a Director of Corporate College to facilitate revenue-generating noncredit programs. I would like to thank the budget hearing panel members for their recommendations on positions and new initiatives as they provided invaluable feedback on priorities. Funds have also been set aside in the budget to purchase needed instructional equipment and to refresh our technology resources.

I appreciate all that you do for our students and would like you to know that I appreciate your work in making CF the first choice for quality higher education in our community.

At the June 21 meeting of the Association of Florida Colleges CF Chapter, I had the honor of swearing in our new officers for 2017-2018. Congratulations and thank you to these team members who will continue or have accepted leadership positions.

Andy Variell, President
Mark Ross, President-Elect
Kim Sellers, Vice President
Sarah David, Secretary-Treasurer
Cara Bennett, Historian
Debbie Bowe, Membership Chair
Sharon Altany, Activities Chair
Amanda Camp, Fundraising Chair
Ron Kielty, Legislative Representative
Eileen McDonald, Citrus Campus Representative
Krystle Skelly, Levy Campus Representative
Dejuan Mills, Hampton Center Representative

Chapter President Andy Variell recognized four board members for their service. Amanda Camp, above, received the Unsung Hero Award; Dr. Cynthia Moody received the PRIDE Award; Sharon Altany was named Chapter Member of the Year; and Cara Bennett was named Executive Board Member of the Year.

This has been an outstanding year for CF and I look forward to another outstanding year to come. I’d also like to share how fortunate I consider myself to be a part of this great team and college. I have never worked with a more dedicated team than all of you. Together, we are transforming lives! I hope you have a wonderful summer! Go Patriots!